Browse: Record Series Subjects Agencies Record Groups

Appellate Courts of Illinois - RG 902 | Illinois State Archives

Name: Appellate Courts of Illinois - RG 902

Historical Note:

The Appellate Courts of Illinois were created by an 1877 act of the General Assembly. They exercised appellate jurisdiction exclusively and that jurisdiction extended to all matters of appeal from the circuit courts and the pre-1964 municipal courts other than criminal cases and cases involving a franchise or freehold or the validity of a statute. These latter cases are appealed directly to the Illinois Supreme Court. Originally there were four Appellate Court districts across the state with each served by a panel of three circuit court judges appointed by the Supreme Court (L. 1877, pp. 70-71).

Legislation passed in 1963 provided for the popular election of Appellate Court justices in their respective districts. The Supreme Court can assign additional judges to Appellate Court districts as case loads demand (L. 1963, p. 2643). Currently the state is made up of five Appellate Court districts.

Page Generated in: 0.166 seconds (using 104 queries).
Using 5792404B of memory. (Peak of 5865324B.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.12
Copyright ©2010 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign