Browse: Record Series Subjects Agencies Record Groups

Department of Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities - RG 218 | Illinois State Archives

Name: Department of Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities - RG 218
Variant Name: Department of Mental Health

Historical Note:

In 1961 the General Assembly created the Department of Mental Health to assume all responsibilities formerly vested in the Department of Public Welfare (L. 1961, p. 2666). These duties included the care and treatment of all persons admitted or committed to state institutions under the department's control. Most of these institutions performed services for the mentally ill or retarded. Until the creation in 1963 of the Department of Children and Family Services, the Department of Mental Health also operated state institutions and social programs for children and their families. The Department of Mental Health also is responsible for the establishment of programs to prevent and treat alcoholism and drug abuse and the coordination of community services for the emotionally ill and developmentally disabled.

In 1973 a separate division was established within the Department of Mental Health to provide programs for the developmentally disabled. As a reflection of this additional responsibility the department's name became the Department of Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities (P.A. 78-992, p. 96). The following institutions are under the control of the Department of Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities:

Herman M. Adler Mental Health Center at Champaign (formerly Herman M. Adler Zone Center at Champaign)

Alton Mental Health Center (formerly Alton State Hospital)

Anna Mental Health and Developmental Center (formerly Anna State Hospital)

A.L. Bowen Developmental Center at Harrisburg (formerly A.L. Bowen Children's Center at Harrisburg)

Centralia State School

Chester Mental Health Center (formerly Illinois Security Hospital at Menard)

Chicago-Read Mental Health Center (formerly Chicago State Hospital and Charles F. Read Zone Center)

Dixon Developmental Center (formerly Dixon State School)

East Moline Mental Health Center (formerly East Moline State Hospital)

Elgin Mental Health Center (formerly Elgin State Hospital)

William W. Fox Developmental Center at Dwight (formerly William W. Fox Children's Center at Dwight)

Galesburg Mental Health Center (formerly Galesburg State Research Hospital)

Harrisburg State School

William A. Howe Developmental Center at Tinley Park Illinois

Braille and Sight Saving School at Jacksonville*

Illinois Children's Hospital-School at Chicago*

Illinois Eye and Ear Infirmary at Chicago*

Illinois Institute for Developmental Disabilities at Chicago (formerly Illinois State Pediatric Institute at Chicago)

Illinois School for the Deaf at Jacksonville*

Illinois Soldiers' and Sailors' Children's School at Normal*

Illinois Soldiers' Widows' Home at Wilmington (closed in 1963)

Illinois State Psychiatric Institute at Chicago

Illinois Veterans' Home at Quincy (formerly Illinois Soldiers' and Sailors' Home at Quincy)*

Illinois Visually Handicapped Institute at Chicago*

Institute for Juvenile Research at Chicago

Jacksonville Mental Health and Developmental Center (formerly Jacksonville State Hospital)

Kankakee Developmental Center (formerly Kankakee State Hospital)

Lincoln Developmental Center (formerly Lincoln State School)

Elisabeth Ludeman Developmental Center at Park Forest (formerly Elisabeth Ludeman Mental Retardation Center at Park Forest)

Andrew McFarland Mental Health Center at Springfield (formerly Andrew McFarland Zone Center at Springfield)

John J. Madden Mental Health Center at Chicago (formerly John J. Madden Zone Center at Chicago)

Manteno Mental Health Center (formerly Manteno State Hospital)

Mental Health Center at Chicago

Adolf Meyer Mental Health Center at Decatur (formerly Adolf Meyer Zone Center at Decatur)

Warren G. Murray Developmental Center at Centralia (formerly Warren G. Murray Children's Center at Centralia)

Peoria State Hospital (closed in 1973)

H. Douglas Singer Mental Health Center at Rockford (formerly H. Douglas Singer Zone Center at Rockford)

Southern Illinois Children's Service Center at Hurst*

Tinley Park Mental Health Center (formerly Tinley Park State Hospital)

Waukegan Developmental Center

George A. Zeller Mental Health Center at Peoria (formerly George A. Zeller Zone Center at Peoria)

*These institutions transferred to the DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES, RG 219.000, in 1963.

Access to some of these records is restricted according to the provisions of the Mental Health Code and the State Records Act of 1957 as amended.

expand icon Records or Manuscript Collections Created by Department of Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities - RG 218

Page Generated in: 0.204 seconds (using 104 queries).
Using 5947620B of memory. (Peak of 6013924B.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.12
Copyright ©2010 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign