Browse: Record Series Subjects Agencies Record Groups

Board of Higher Education - RG 473 | Illinois State Archives

Name: Board of Higher Education - RG 473

Historical Note:

The Board of Higher Education was created in 1961. Its fifteen members were composed of eight persons appointed by the Governor; the chairmen of the Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois, the Board of Trustees of Southern Illinois University, and the Teachers' College Board; one member of each of three foregoing boards selected by the members thereof; and the Superintendent of Public Instruction. The Teachers' College Board oversaw Illinois State University, Northern Illinois University, Eastern Illinois University, and Western Illinois University.

The board was responsible for analyzing extant and future requirements of higher education in the state and preparing a master plan for the development, expansion, integration, coordination, and efficient utilization of the facilities, curricula, and standards of public higher education. Proposed legislation was to be submitted to the Governor and the General Assembly to effectuate this plan. The board was to provide periodic updates to these proposals as appropriate. None of the included institutions could establish any new unit of instruction, research, or public service without the board's approval. Further, the board was to examine the proposed budgets of all included institutions and submit recommendations to the Governor and General Assembly. Every two years it was to make a formal written report of its activities and recommendations to the Governor and General Assembly (L. 1961, p. 3819).


Page Generated in: 0.171 seconds (using 104 queries).
Using 5792824B of memory. (Peak of 5865648B.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.12
Copyright ©2010 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign