Browse: Record Series Subjects Agencies Record Groups

State Tax Commission - RG 413 | Illinois State Archives

Name: State Tax Commission - RG 413

Historical Note: The State Tax Commission was created as an independent commission within the Department of Finance in 1919. It was composed of three members appointed by the Governor. Duties included supervising all real estate and personal property tax assessment in the state, assisting local assessment officers, prescribing rules and regulations for local assessments, assessing all property owned by railroad companies in the state, equalizing the valuations of assessment across the state, and maintaining a thorough record of its activities (L. 1919, p. 9). The commission was abolished in 1943 and its duties passed to the Department of Revenue (L. 1943, vol. 2, p. 300).

Page Generated in: 0.215 seconds (using 104 queries).
Using 5893064B of memory. (Peak of 5948056B.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.12
Copyright ©2010 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign